Possibly since the beginning of time, men have imagined that it is in solitude and silence that they will find peace in their hearts. And they learned quickly that they could find something much better still : the Master of hearts and the Lord of peace, God himself.

This attraction for the treasures man seeks above all else led to monastic life and monasteries. Most religions have them. Of course, the Gospel had to have, and still has today, as a most natural consequence the attraction of certain men to a total and absolute search for God. Actually, it is to every man that God offers his love and his joy, and in response to such an offer, everyone should respond with an enthusiastic gift of themselves. There are several ways to make this gift, several vocations. Exactly what is the vocation of a monk? What is a monastery ?

Monks and monasteries are words that often make us think of somewhat mysterious buildings, surrounded by walls, inside which something serious, something religious, something close to God is happening, but we do not really understand what.

God is there! We feel it, though confusedly, and we come, sometimes en masse. We come close to God and that is good. We also hope that the monks, who live in His presence, will be able to give to their fellow men a little peace, a little joy, a little happiness. They are at the service of the Master of life and death, they must know better than anyone how to calm fears, how to solve problems, how to restore confidence in life at particularly difficult times.

We come full of hope. And God alone, who knows what is in the heart of every man, could say in each case if the hope was fulfilled or not.

The truth is that God offers Himself to everyone who seeks Him with a pure heart, but the difficulty lies there. It is with a pure heart, that is to say a heart free from any illegitimate love, that one must seek Him so that God may illuminate our hearts and transform our lives as He sees fit. He always wants what is best for us, our true happiness. Only those who have a pure heart are blessed by God. All the blessings in the world are useless if we do not give our hearts to God.

We can find God while visiting a monastery and we can find Him in innumerable other places and circumstances. The most important thing in any life is to find our Creator, our Saviour, our Father, our most faithful and most tender Friend, the One by whom and for whom we were made, without whom there is no happiness.

The monks, like everyone, seek happiness. One day, God led them to understand that happiness is being near Him, at His service, with other brothers, in a life where everything becomes prayer. This is the way that monks live. All men are not called to live this life because God’s children’s vocations, missions and ways of life are many and varied. But always, for a life to be filled with happiness (and let us not forget that man is created for happiness), it must be filled with God. So many people seek happiness where it is not. Scripture warns us that none of the false, man-made gods, such as money, power, or glory, can satisfy man’s aspirations, especially not when man deifies himself.

Who the monks are ?

A monastery is a school for the service of the Lord. In this school, monks learn to serve God, in other words, to live each day a little better, as the Gospel asks. In fact, this is the programme of all baptised people, of all Christians.

Indeed, monks have no other GOAL than that which they share with all Christians. To put it simply, they are called by God to use other MEANS to attain that goal.

What are these means? A life in a religious community, a rule which organises everything so that in work, in silence and especially in prayer, the world, with the help of the brothers, may meet God.

Monks sometimes live alone, in this case they are called hermits, but usually they live together in a community which becomes a real family for them. The life of this family is organised by a Rule and the Rule gives a good definition of what a monk is :

A MAN WHO IS TRULY SEEKING GOD.

It also tells the monk that he must remember each day that that is the reason he came to the monastery. He came for God, because he understood that God is so beautiful, so good, so worthy of our love, that, from now on, he can do nothing else but give himself entirely to Him. And he knows that by abandoning himself to God, he is not forgetting his brother man because he who gives himself to God aids the whole human family.

This ideal, as we can see, is grand and noble and for many centuries it has brought enthusiasm to the hearts of men of all ages, of all social classes and all nationalities. But the Rule wisely adds that it is a demanding ideal and that in order to achieve it, one needs God’s help. This is the message of Jesus Christ in the Gospel : Without me, you can do nothing. But, adds Saint Paul, with the help of He who is my strength, I can do anything! Monks come seeking God in the monastery, they come giving themselves wholly, and they know that it is in this generous and fecund gift that they will find true joy.

What the monks do ?

They pray, for their lives are above all lives of adoration, of praise, of thanksgiving, of requests, and of intimate and cordial conversation with God. Everything they do is done under the watchful eye of God, to please Him, to show Him his love, by meditating peacefully on his word. There are several Divine Offices, or prayer meetings, every day, the most important being mass, and at other times of the day each monk prays in a more personal way to the Lord.

To pray well, silence must reign in one’s life, outside as well as inside one’s heart and mind. Hearts and bodies must be wholly given over to God, not divided. That is why the Rule demands that all monks be poor, chaste and not found a family, that they be obedient and humble, seeing God Himself in the person of the Father of the monastery, in his brother monks and in the poor.

The monks have a deep respect for all forms of Christian life, lay people, religious order members, and clergy, but they know that God has other plans for them, a shorter, more direct road. It is also a road for which you must have a decided and persevering soul, because it is sometimes a very difficult one. Saint Benedict compared the monastery to a school in which one must learn and study things which are pleasing to God. He also says that the monastery is a militia, the army of Christ the King, and in this army one must battle, with joyous ardour, everything that is displeasing to God.

The monastery also has a solitary and secluded character, referred to as separation from the world. There is no monastic life without separation from the world. Yet, monasteries have done, and continue to do, much for civilisation. A certain presence in the world is necessary, such as a true solidarity with its suffering, its joys, its hopes and its needs. The monks do not neglect this presence and this solidarity, however, for them, it takes primarily the particular form of a constant and total presence with God. The monks stand before God not only for themselves, but for all of their brother men.

This life which is, according to Paul VI, a prelude to eternal beatitude, needs silence and solitude. The first monks settled most often outside of cities, in deserts, mountains or forests, and since then, monasteries are generally built far from populated centres, often on secluded sites, favourable to a life of prayer and the next most important aspect of the monks’ lives, work.

The work of the monks

First, the monks study and learn the word of God, through what the Rule calls Lectio Divina or the study of the things of God, a study which is both contemplative and prayerful, in which prayer is always present and which continues in a dialogue with God.

Travail au RucherThen, work, intellectual and manual, depending on the needs of the monastery and the aptitudes of each, is part of the life of each monk. One is truly monk, says Saint Benedict, if one lives by the work of one’s hands. A monk enjoys working, a job well done and, as the Rule says, avoids idleness. Nowadays, manual work is not the only way to earn a living, but it remains an important part of monastic life, where no one believes themselves above it. The Rule has even contributed more than once to making manual work more respectable at times when, in certain regions of the world, it was considered inferior.

People often ask if monks are priests. The answer is simply that they may be priests, but it is not an obligation. Indeed, monastic life is an ideal which is sufficient unto itself and which does not necessitate taking orders. It is the Father of the monastery who, if he deems it necessary, calls a monk to priesthood, in the Church’s name. In this case, those who are called must complete studies which are the equivalent of those offered in a seminary.

How do monks take part in the apostolic work of priests, missionaries, nuns, etc.? The answer is simple. Monks are acutely aware of their apostolic responsibility. While they are members of the Church, living through it and for it, they understand that they can not accomplish all the necessary work themselves. Exceptionally, they can participate in the pastoral ministry of the diocesan clergy, but it is not their usual task. On the other hand, the particular role of the monasteries, the one which no one else can accomplish if they do not, is primarily to offer, to those whom God calls, the possibility of giving himself wholly to the Lord, radically, fully and unconditionally, says Paul VI, in the conditions mentioned above, namely solitude, silence, prayer and penitence.

Then, for the whole Church (beginning with the local Church, the life of which they share in most particularly), monasteries must provide centres for prayer, intense conversation with God, the study of Godly things, contemplation, charity. They must be small cities where the Gospel reigns, where prayer is practically continuous and where everything is done in peace and therefore, in joy, which helps the hearts of the monks and their visitors to better find God. Not to mention the invisible action, the most important without a doubt, of these humble, hidden lives, given to the love of God and their brothers.

Monasteries attract visitors. They receive guests because hospitality is a monastic tradition. Until the end of the Middle Ages, their hostels provided lodging and security in secluded, often dangerous, areas where abbeys and priories were usually located. This function is no longer necessary. However, many people of all ages come to ask the monks to share a small part of their lives. The Gospel requests that we see the Lord Himself in each traveller. On this point, as on many others, the Rule says the same thing and asks that we see Christ in all those who come to the monastery : guests or the poor, visitors or pilgrims. They are all seeking God, sometimes without even knowing it, and the contact with the house of God allows them to find the roads that lead to Him, in their own time. Better still, it allows them to find Him and to find themselves in the light. Often God waits for those he loves in places unencumbered with noise and agitation, in places of silence and calm.

Calm, peace, order and joy, all of these things usually radiate from a monastery and, if it is truly the case, that is in itself an important contribution to the building of the Kingdom of God. The life of a monk is unquestionably beautiful and noble. The Rule also warns that it is difficult and harsh, that it can be compared to a narrow path which constantly climbs, and on this road one should be prepared to carry, with the One we are following, a cross. Trials exist in every life and a monk’s life is not exempt. The keenness and zeal of the beginning can not last forever. They must make room for a peaceful perseverance. He who endures, says the Rule, will know, little by little, as he approaches God, the ineffable joy of a heart swollen with love. Indeed, God will one day give back one-hundred fold what His children have given Him.

Monastic organisation

The Rule requests that it be possible to find almost everything the monastery needs to exist within the community so that the monks do not need to leave the monastery too often, which is not good for their souls, it adds.

When the terrain permits, the buildings are set up around a courtyard and a cloister. Each monk has a cell, that is to say a small bedroom. He can read and study there as well as rest at night. A certain number of other rooms are for the use of all : kitchen, refectory, library, etc.
Various workshops exist (woodworking, garage, engine shop, bookbinding, printing, etc.) within the monastery or near it.

Most monasteries also have a garden, an orchard and a farm which, in some cases, may be quite large.

The monks at the Mont-des-Oliviers monastery, in addition to a garden, an orchard and a few livestock and a few of the workshops mentioned above, keep honey bees and make candles.

However, the monastery’s most important building, often the most beautiful, and in any case its spiritual centre, is the church. It is there that the monks go before daybreak and several more times before nightfall, to sing the glory of God and to pray to Him, in the presence of Angels, as the Rule says. The church constantly reminds the monks that their primary mission is prayer and that their lives lose their meaning if they stop seeking God in all they do. Monastery churches were generally built in the style of their time and with the materials present in their countries, making for a wide variety of churches. Many are very beautiful because those who built them wanted them to be as worthy as possible of a God who is Beauty and Love.

Conclusion

Monks carry out, in the simple, secluded life of the monastery, a humble and noble service.
A noble service indeed because, constantly in the presence of God, the monks express, as best they can, the deepest desire of the Church, which is to meet the Lord. That is the reason the Church sings His glory, studies His words, suffers to repair evil and prays incessantly for all men. Monks do the same.

A humble service also because they who are called to the monastery know that God chose them freely, even though they were unworthy, and that if they have received much, they must give generously in return. In order to be generous every day, the monks know that they need God’s help as well as the prayers of the whole Church. When a monk sees something good in his own life, he does not take credit for it, but he gives praise to God who is responsible for that good.

Through these few words, the monks of Notre-Dame du Mont-des-Oliviers hope to respond to the questions of their friends and visitors. There are numerous people who make the pilgrimage to the Benedictines. May they leave the monastery blessed by God, stronger in their faith, more animated in hope and charity and praying that their brother monks may fulfil all that God calls them to do.

Depuis toujours peut-être, les hommes ont deviné que c'est dans la solitude et le silence que l'on trouve la paix du coeur. Et ils ont bien vite appris que l'on y trouve beaucoup mieux encore : le Maître des coeurs et le Seigneur de la paix, Dieu lui-même.

Cette attirance vers des trésors que l'homme cherche plus que tout, a fait naître la vie monastique, les monastères. La plupart des religions en ont. Bien entendu, l'Evangile devait avoir et doit encore aujourd'hui avoir pour fruit le plus naturel d'attirer certains hommes vers une recherche totale et absolue de Dieu. A vrai dire, c'est à tout homme que Dieu offre son amour et sa joie, et devant une telle offre, tous devraient répondre avec enthousiasme par le don d'eux-mêmes. Il y a plusieurs manières de faire ce don, plusieurs vocations ; qu'est-ce au juste que la vocation d'un moine ? Qu'est-ce qu'un monastère ?

Moines, monastère : ces mots font souvent penser à des bâtiments un peu mystérieux, entourés de murs, à l'abri desquels il se passe quelque chose de sérieux, de religieux, tout près de Dieu, mais qu'on ne comprend pas très bien.

Dieu est là ! On le sent confusément, et on vient, en grand nombre parfois. On vient près de Dieu, et cela est bien ; on espère aussi que les moines, qui vivent près de Lui, sont capables de donner à leurs frères les hommes un peu de paix, un peu de joie, un peu de bonheur. Ils vivent au service du Maître de la vie et de la mort : ils doivent bien savoir, mieux que les autres, comment apaiser les angoisses, comment dénouer les problèmes, comment rendre confiance en la vie quand celle-ci est dure.

On vient, plein d'espoir. Et Dieu seul, qui sait ce qu'il y a dans le coeur de l'homme, pourrait dire dans chaque cas si cet espoir a été comblé ou déçu.

Ce qui est vrai, c'est que Dieu se donne à qui le cherche d'un coeur pur ; mais, justement, tout est là : c'est avec un coeur pur c'est-à-dire débarrassé de tout amour illégitime qu'il faut le chercher, lui, Dieu, pour qu'il illumine notre coeur et transforme nos vies comme il le veut : et il veut toujours notre bien, notre bonheur vrai. C'est seulement l'homme au coeur pur qui est béni de Dieu. Toutes les bénédictions du monde ne servent à rien si on ne donne pas son coeur à Dieu.

On peut trouver Dieu à l'occasion d'une visite au monastère ; on peut le trouver dans d'innombrables autres lieux et circonstances. C'est cela qui compte plus que tout dans une vie : rencontrer son Créateur, son Sauveur, son Père, le plus fidèle et le plus tendre des Amis, celui par qui et pour qui nous sommes faits et en dehors de qui il n'y a pas de bonheur.

Les moines comme tous les autres hommes, cherchent le bonheur : un jour Dieu leur a fait comprendre que le bonheur, c'est d'être tout près de Lui, à son service, avec d'autres frères, dans une vie où tout devient prière. C'est ainsi que vivent les moines. Tous les hommes ne sont pas appelés à cette vie car, pour les enfants de Dieu, les vocations, les missions, les genres de vie sont nombreux et variés ; mais, toujours, pour qu'une vie soit remplie de bonheur (et n'oublions pas que l'homme est créé pour le bonheur), il faut qu'elle soit remplie de Dieu. En effet, tant de gens cherchent ce bonheur là où il n'est pas. L'Ecriture nous en avertit : aucun des faux dieux : intérêt, argent, puissance, gloire, que se fabriquent les hommes ne peut satisfaire ses aspirations, pas même lorsque l'homme se divinise lui-même, surtout pas alors !

Que sont les Moines ?

Un monastère est une école du service du Seigneur. Dans cette école, les moines apprennent à servir Dieu, c'est-à-dire à vivre chaque jour un peu mieux comme le demande l'Evangile : ceci est en réalité le programme de tout baptisé, de tout chrétien.

Et, de fait, les moines n'ont pas d'autre BUT que celui de tous les chrétiens. Simplement, ils sont appelés par Dieu à prendre des MOYENS différents.

Quels sont donc ces moyens ? : une vie de communauté, une règle qui organise toutes choses pour que, dans le travail, le silence et surtout la prière, le monde, aidé de ses frères, rencontre Dieu.

Les moines vivent parfois seuls : ce sont alors des ermites ; mais ordinairement ils se réunissent en communauté, et celle-ci devient une vraie famille. La vie de cette famille est organisée par une Règle ; et cette Règle donne une belle définition du moine en disant qu'il est

UN HOMME QUI CHERCHE VRAIMENT DIEU.

Elle dit encore au moine qu'il doit se rappeler chaque jour que c'est pour cela qu'il est venu au monastère. Il est venu pour Dieu, parce qu'il a compris que Dieu est si beau, si bon, si digne de notre amour, que, désormais, il ne peut plus faire autre chose que se donner tout entier à lui. Et il sait qu'en se donnant tout entier à lui il n'abandonne pas ses frères les hommes car celui qui se donne à Dieu profite à la famille humaine tout entière.

Cet idéal, on le voit, est grand et noble, et depuis bien des siècles il a enthousiasmé le coeur des hommes, de tout âge, de toute condition et de tout pays. Mais la Règle ajoute, avec sagesse, que c'est un idéal exigeant et que, pour le réaliser, il faut avant tout s'appuyer sur l'aide de Dieu. C'est bien ce que le Christ Jésus disait dans l'Evangile : Sans moi vous ne pouvez rien faire. Mais, ajoute saint Paul, avec l'aide de celui qui est ma force, je peux tout ! Le moine vient donc chercher Dieu au monastère, il vient se donner tout entier, et il sait que c'est dans ce don généreux et fécond qu'il trouvera la vraie joie.

Que font les Moines ?

Il prie ; sa vie est d'abord une vie d'adoration, de louange, d'action de grâces, de demande, de conversation intime et cordiale avec Dieu. Tout ce qu'il fait, il le fait sous le regard du Seigneur, pour lui plaire, pour lui montrer son amour, en méditant paisiblement sa parole. Il y a plusieurs offices ou réunions de prière, chaque jour ; il y a surtout la messe ; et à d'autres moments le moine prie dans un contact plus personnel avec le Seigneur.

Pour bien prier, il faut que le silence règne dans toute la vie, aussi bien extérieurement que dans le coeur et les pensées ; il faut que les coeurs et les corps soient tout entiers à Dieu, sans partage. C'est pourquoi la Règle demande que le moine soit pauvre, qu'il soit chaste et ne fonde pas une famille, qu'il soit obéissant et humble, en voyant Dieu lui-même dans la personne du Père du monastère, de ses frères les moines, des pauvres.

Le moine a une profonde estime pour toutes les formes de vie chrétienne : laïque, religieuse, sacerdotale ; mais il sent, il sait que Dieu veut pour lui des conditions particulières, en quelque sorte un chemin plus court et plus direct. C'est aussi un chemin pour lequel il faut avoir une âme décidée et persévérante, car il est parfois rude. Saint Benoît compare le monastère à une école : et dans cette école il faut apprendre, étudier les choses qui plaisent à Dieu ; il dit aussi que le monastère est une milice, l'armée du Christ-Roi : et dans cette armée il faut combattre, avec une joyeuse ardeur, tout ce qui déplaît à Dieu.

Le monastère comporte aussi un caractère solitaire et retiré : on appelle cela la séparation du monde ; il n'y a pas de vie monastique s'il n'y a pas de séparation du monde. Et pourtant, les monastères ont beaucoup travaillé pour la civilisation, et ils le font encore ; mais une certaine présence au monde est nécessaire, une vraie solidarité avec ses peines, ses joies, ses espérances et ses besoins. Les moines ne négligent pas cette présence et cette solidarité, mais elle prend d'abord pour eux la forme particulière d'une présence constante et totale à Dieu ; devant Dieu les moines savent qu'ils se tiennent non pas seulement pour eux-mêmes, mais pour tous les hommes leurs frères.

Cette vie qui est, selon Paul VI, un prélude de l'éternelle béatitude, a donc besoin de silence et de solitude. Les premiers moines se sont le plus souvent installés à l'écart des villes, dans les déserts, les montagnes, les forêts, et depuis leur époque, les monastères se sont construits habituellement loin des foules, souvent dans des sites très retirés, favorables au déroulement d'une existence où après la prière, le travail a une grande place.

Le travail des Moines

D'abord, les moines doivent connaître, et donc étudier la Parole de Dieu : c'est ce que la Règle appelle la Lectio divina ou étude des choses de Dieu, étude recueillie et priante, qui s'accompagne de prière et se poursuit dans le colloque avec Dieu.

Travail au RucherPuis, le travail, intellectuel et manuel, suivant les besoins du monastère et les aptitudes de chacun, fait partie de la vie de chaque moine. On est vraiment moine, rappelle saint Benoît, si l'on vit du travail de ses mains. Un moine aime le travail, le travail bien fait, et, comme dit la Règle, il fuit l'oisiveté. Le travail manuel n'est plus, de nos jours, le seul moyen de gagner sa vie, mais il garde une place d'importance variable dans tous les monastères où personne ne le trouve jamais indigne de soi. La Règle a même contribué plus d'une fois à en rendre l'estime aux époques ou dans les régions où on le considérait comme inférieur.

On demande souvent si les moines sont prêtres ? La réponse est la suivante : ils peuvent être prêtres, mais ce n'est pas obligatoire. En effet, la vie monastique est un idéal qui se suffit et qui n'exige pas le sacerdoce. C'est le Père du monastère qui, s'il le juge nécessaire, appelle tel ou tel moine au sacerdoce, au nom de l'Eglise ; et dans ce cas, ceux qui sont appelés doivent accomplir les études correspondant à celles que l'on fait dans les séminaires.

Comment est-ce que les moines prennent part au travail apostolique des prêtres, des missionnaires, des religieuses, etc. ? La réponse est simple : les moines ont vivement conscience de leur responsabilité apostolique ; membres de l'Eglise, vivant par elle, ils vivent aussi pour elle ; mais ils comprennent que dans l'Eglise ils ne peuvent accomplir toutes les fonctions. Exceptionnellement ils peuvent prendre une part du ministère pastoral exercé par le clergé diocésain : mais ce n'est pas leur tâche normal. Par contre, la fonction particulière des monastères, celle que personne ne pourra remplir si eux ne la remplissent pas, c'est tout d'abord d'offrir, à ceux que Dieu appelle, la possibilité de se donner tout entiers à lui, de façon radicale, plénière et inconditionnelle dit Paul VI, dans les conditions rappelées ci-dessus : solitude, silence, prière et pénitence.

Puis, pour toute l'Eglise (en commençant par l'Eglise locale, à la vie de laquelle ils communient tout particulièrement), les monastères doivent réaliser des foyers de prière, de conversation intense avec Dieu, d'étude des choses de Dieu, de contemplation et de charité, des petites cités où règne l'Evangile, où la prière est pratiquement continue et où tout est fait dans la paix et donc dans une joie qui aide les coeurs des moines et de leurs visiteurs à mieux trouver Dieu ; sans parler de l'action invisible, la plus importante sans doute, de ces vies cachées et humbles, données à l'amour de Dieu et de leurs frères.

Les monastères attirent des visiteurs ; ils reçoivent des hôtes : car l'hospitalité est traditionnelle chez les moines. Jusqu'à la fin du Moyen-Age, leurs hôtelleries assuraient aux voyageurs gîte et sécurité dans les régions écartées, et souvent dangereuses, où s'élevaient abbayes et prieurés. Cette fonction n'est plus guère nécessaire aujourd'hui. Par contre, beaucoup, à tous âges, viennent demander aux moines de partager quelque peu leur vie ; l'Evangile demande de voir le Seigneur lui-même dans le voyageur ; sur ce point comme sur tant d'autres, la Règle dit la même chose et demande de voir le Christ dans ceux qui se présentent au monastère : hôtes ou pauvres, visiteurs ou pèlerins. Eux aussi cherchent Dieu, parfois sans s'en douter ; et le contact plus ou moins prolongé avec la maison de Dieu leur permettra, en temps voulu, de trouver les chemins qui mènent à lui ; mieux, de le trouver, Lui, et de se retrouver eux-mêmes dans la lumière ; souvent Dieu attend ceux qu'il aime dans le dépouillement du silence et du calme.

Calme, paix, ordre, joie : tout cela rayonne habituellement d'un monastère et, s'il en est vraiment ainsi, c'est déjà une contribution importante à l'édification du Royaume de Dieu. La vie du moine est incontestablement belle et noble ; la Règle cependant prévient loyalement qu'elle est en même temps dure et âpre, qu'elle peut se comparer à un chemin étroit, et qui monte sans cesse ; et sur cette voie, il faut s'attendre à porter, avec Celui que l'on suit, une croix. Les épreuves existent dans toutes les vies : la vie du moine en a donc aussi sa part. L'ardeur, l'élan des premiers jours ne peuvent toujours durer ; ils doivent faire place à une tranquille persévérance. Celui qui tient bon, dit la Règle, connaîtra peu à peu, à mesure qu'il approchera de Dieu, la joie ineffable d'un coeur dilaté par l'amour : Dieu, en effet, répond un jour par le centuple à ce que ses enfants lui donnent.

Comment est organisé un monastère?

La Règle demande qu'on y trouve à peu près tout ce qui est nécessaire à l'existence de la communauté, afin que les moines n'aient pas besoin de sortir souvent, ce qui n'est pas bon pour leur âme ajoute-t-elle.

Lorsque le terrain le permet, les bâtiments sont disposés autour d'une cour et d'un cloître. Chaque moine dispose d'une cellule, c'est-à-dire d'une petite chambre. Il peut y lire et y étudier ; il y prend aussi le repos de la nuit. Un certain nombre de locaux sont à l'usage commun : cuisine, réfectoire, bibliothèque, etc.
Différents ateliers (menuiserie, garage, mécanique, reliure, imprimerie, etc.) existent, en nombre variable, dans le monastère lui-même, ou tout près.

La plupart des monastères ont aussi un jardin, un verger, une ferme qui, dans certains cas, peut avoir une grande importance.

Les moines du Mont-des-Oliviers, outre un jardin, un verger et quelques bêtes, ainsi que plusieurs des ateliers ci-dessus mentionnés, ont une petite exploitation de miel et fabriquent des cierges.

Cependant, le principal édifice du monastère, souvent le plus beau, et en tout cas son centre spirituel, est l'église. C'est là que le moine se rend avant le lever du jour, et plusieurs fois encore jusqu'au retour de la nuit, pour chanter la gloire de Dieu et le prier, en présence des Anges comme dit la Règle. L'Eglise rappelle sans cesse au moine que son principal office est la prière et que toute sa vie perd son sens s'il cesse de chercher vraiment Dieu par tout ce qu'il fait. Les églises des monastères ont été généralement construites dans le style de leur époque et avec les matériaux du pays, d'où une grande variété. Beaucoup sont fort belles car ceux qui les ont bâties voulaient qu'elles soient aussi dignes que possible d'un Dieu qui est toute Beauté en même temps que tout Amour.

Conclusion

Le moine accomplit dans la vie simple et cachée du monastère un service humble et noble.
Service très noble en effet car, sans cesse devant Dieu, le moine exprime, de son mieux, le désir le plus profond de l'Eglise qui est la rencontre de son Seigneur : c'est pour cela qu'elle chante sa gloire, qu'elle scrute sa parole, qu'elle souffre pour réparer le mal, qu'elle prie inlassablement pour tous les hommes. Et ainsi fait le moine.

Service humble aussi, car celui qui est appelé au monastère sait bien que Dieu l'a choisi gratuitement, sans mérite de sa part, et que s'il a beaucoup reçu, il doit en retour être généreux : pour être généreux chaque jour, il sent que l'aide de Dieu lui est plus que tout nécessaire, ainsi que la prière de toute l'Eglise qui l'entoure. Quand le moine voit quelque chose de bien dans sa propre vie, qu'il ne s'en attribue pas le mérite, mais rende gloire à Dieu qui est l'auteur de ce bien.

Par ces quelques aperçus, les moines de Notre-Dame du Mont-des-Oliviers voudraient répondre à l'interrogation de leurs amis et visiteurs. Nombreux ils viennent en pèlerinage aux bénédictins. Puissent-ils quitter le monastère bénis de Dieu, plus forts dans la foi, plus animés d'espérance et de charité, en priant pour que leurs frères moines répondent à tout ce que Dieu demande d'eux.